Openness and mental health

Stephen Keable
2 min readMay 10, 2017

​There have been a couple of high profile campaigns encouraging people to talk about their experiences with mental health issues in recent weeks.

These have had an odd timing for me personally as I have spent the last couple of months dealing with grief, after my mother died in late February just a couple of weeks before her 60th birthday.

The knock on effect of this has been that I have had a couple of panic attacks and been struggling with some minor anxiety problems. Which have resulted in seeking help from Cruse Bereavement Care (who have been a great help) as well as the support of friends, colleagues and family.

My mother also spent many years of her life struggling with far worse mental health issues than I have experienced recently. Having suffered with the ups and downs of bipolar disorder for most of her life.

Whilst living with my mother’s mental health issues had left me with what I thought was a well informed perspective and understanding. I’ve not spoken to many people about them through the years, as it can provoke awkward situations for both me and the person I talk to about them.

I also hadn’t ever had a true appreciation of how much something like anxiety can affect you until my recent firsthand problems with it. I never realised how crippling and frustrating it can be.

Over the last couple of months I have found that talking to people both about my grief and anxiety issues, has been incredibly helpful. Being honest and say “I’m good and bad” or “it’s been really hard” when asked “how are you?” Rather than just saying I’m fine and ignoring it all, has helped me a lot.

As a result I’m going to aim to be a much better listener to colleagues, friends, family and even strangers from now on. As I realised how helpful it can be.

Every voice that opens up and admits we all experience periods where our mental health affects us in some way, the more normal it becomes and hopefully the easier it is to help each other.

--

--

Stephen Keable

Shopify partner, JavaScript/Liquid/Swift developer, convert to serverless architecture and builder of digital products people love to use since 1999.